Mar 17, 2012, 1:48 AM EDT
For the second time in two days, a lane violation on a free throw cost a team a game.
This time, it was Jerian Grant of No. 7 Notre Dame. Down two with 2.8 seconds left, Grant crossed the 3-point line before Eric Atkins hit the front-end of a one-and-one. The shot went in, but the violation was still called. Xavier ball. After two more free throws put Xavier up 67-63, the game was all but over.
Now as you might imagine given the questionable calls that have littered this tournament, the call set twitter ablaze. And quite frankly, the only person that deserves any of the blame here is Grant. He violated a black-and-white rule. He was called for the violation. There is no grey area.
Did it affect the the play? No, the shot went in. But that’s not how the rule is written. If you want to call for the rule to be changed — if the shot goes in, the violation is waved — I’m on board with that. But the referees made the right call by the rule book. You cannot rip them for that.
The real shame is all of this is that Grant’s violation mars what was a sensational game.
Xavier’s Tu Holloway was terrific, scoring 25 points and hitting numerous big shots, included a ridiculous, fall-away bank shot over the outstretch arms of Jack Cooley. Holloway’s play sparked a comeback from 11 down in the second half, one that was nearly stemmed by three huge 3-pointers from Grant in the second half.
Except no one is going to remember that.
The only thing that will be taken out of this game is a missed call that wasn’t even a missed call. And that’s a shame.
- Report: Baylor coach told Griner not to talk about her sexuality 10
- Coach K on returning to Team USA: ‘There’s a chance’ 0
- New Mexico, former coach Steve Alford settle buyout dispute 1
- Ben McLemore denies former AAU coach’s allegations 0
- 2014 small forward Jordan Barnett generating buzz in the EYBL 1
- PBT: Parker carves up Grizzlies as Spurs roll in Gm. 1
- PHT: Senators sneak past Penguins in two overtimes
- PHT: Bruins crack Lundqvist, hammer Rangers
- MST: No bumping on Bump Day at Indy 500
- PST: Arsenal grabs Champions League spot
- Ferguson's managerial career ends with 5-5 draw
- Moore stays unbeaten as Rays top Orioles