Skip to content

Should T.J. Warren have been given an And-1 in loss to Syracuse? (VIDEO)

Feb 15, 2014, 9:39 PM EST

No. 1 Syracuse managed to remain undefeated on Saturday night, and believe it or not, the finish may have been more exciting than the Orange’s win over Pitt on Wednesday night.

But the biggest call of the game actually came before the final play. T.J. Warren took a pass over the Syracuse press and went in for what appeared to be an and-one layup, but the referee ruled that he was fouled by Trevor Cooney on the floor.

The play starts at the :35 mark in the video above.

You make the call.

Should Warren have been given an and-one?

Mark Gottfried thinks so. “For them to wipe that away, I already watched the tape,” he said. “I don’t like that call. That changed things.”

My interpretation, quickly: I thought that the foul that the ref called came as Warren was picking up his dribble, meaning that he then took his two steps and the layup after the foul. The ref, who was running full speed and was caught a bit out of position, looked like he was delayed a bit making the call.

I thought it was correct.

But man … it was close, almost as close as Maryland’s upset of Duke.

  1. tictoccpthook - Feb 15, 2014 at 9:48 PM

    The Orangemen are cardiac city for fans. Every game goes down to the wire.

  2. whoisrdymlz - Feb 16, 2014 at 10:03 AM

    Syracuse and Pitt are getting a lot of extra opportunities handed to them by the officials at the end of games in ACC play so far.

  3. peed1 - Feb 16, 2014 at 12:35 PM

    Homer call

    • more4urpets - Feb 17, 2014 at 1:47 PM

      Nope.

  4. bigmeechy74 - Feb 16, 2014 at 5:48 PM

    that’s an awful call. I’m sorry. I like syracuse and hate nc state but that’s ridiculous. if syracuse made that exact play the ref would emphatically make the “and 1″ signal and the fans would go nuts

    • more4urpets - Feb 16, 2014 at 8:14 PM

      I’m sorry but you must not watch much NBA. There was no way that call I an and 1 in a college game unless they get NBA refs. He was fouled before he was into his motion
      NBA Yes. College no.

      • more4urpets - Feb 17, 2014 at 1:40 PM

        Don’t know what you all are looking at. It was clearly the right call. The Ennis charge was corectly called as well.

    • more4urpets - Feb 17, 2014 at 1:42 PM

      I don’t think Syracuse would have gotten that call

  5. more4urpets - Feb 17, 2014 at 1:46 PM

    We’ll see how the calls go when ‘Cuse visits Duke this weekend. I think the’ll end up being pretty much the same. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Duke win, but it won’t be because of refs. Hope ‘Cuse can pull it out

  6. 1wordsword - Feb 19, 2014 at 9:08 AM

    Should have been a technical foul since he fouled him from behind on a break-away.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!