Skip to content

You make the call: did Jarnell Stokes commit a charge? (VIDEO)

Mar 28, 2014, 9:51 PM EDT

jarnell Getty Images

Tennessee was down 72-71 with six seconds remaining when the Vols’ Jarnell Stokes received the ball on the block. He made his move after two dribbles, barreling into Michigan’s Jordan Morgan, and the referees whistled Stokes for the charging foul. During the post-game press conference, Stokes was less than diplomatic about the foul, saying, “No, I don’t think I fouled him. But it was a smart play for him to try to take the charge. He pretty much anticipated it.”

Did the refs make the correct call?

  1. 6superbowls - Mar 28, 2014 at 9:55 PM

    Just another official trying to make a name for himself. Horrible call.

  2. thejjtrain - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:02 PM

    Terrible call, but should have been a moot point had the Volunteers hit those 6 missed free throws.

  3. cybersqueak - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:12 PM

    I HATE the Vols, but this was a terrible call!

  4. packhawk04 - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:13 PM

    The funny thing is if tennessee scores and wins there, we are all talking about how michigan got screwed when the refs gave the vols the ball when it was clear it was off tennessee.

  5. patbocam - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:19 PM

    I sure wish that ref would have just let these kids play it out. Tennessee overachieved but that doesn’t mean they didn’t deserve the opportunity to prove themselves. Michigan dominated much of the game but never really could deliver that knock out blow. Tennessee climbed their way back in only to have a ref “blow” it. Yes TN should have made more free throws and have better ball control early on but that’s not what their fans are drinking I mean thinking about tonight.

    • beelza - Mar 29, 2014 at 12:12 AM

      Refs let ’em play. Michigan put up 45 on Vols in the first half. And you can’t let a team do that and expect to win.

  6. niemikw - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:31 PM

    Great call.

    GO BLUE!

  7. fless43 - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:39 PM

    Anybody that advocates for an official to swallow the whistle in a late game situation has clearly never officiated a game in their life. A foul is a foul, 30 seconds into the game, or with 30 seconds left. I’ve never been to an officials camp that advises you to not enforce the rules because its late in the game. In officials world “swallowing the whistle” = being afraid to make a call. Being afraid to make a call = terrible evaluation.

    • longtallsam - Mar 28, 2014 at 11:22 PM

      I agree with you 100, fless43. As for the call, I actually thought the call should have been blocking on the Michigan player. He slid over and threw his left leg out real wide, blocking the path of the TN player. It certainly didn’t look like a charge. Either no call or blocking.

  8. fless43 - Mar 28, 2014 at 10:46 PM

    As to if the call was correct or not, that’s another discussion. I just wanted to nip the blindly swallowing the whistle argument in the bud right away.

  9. 1consports - Mar 28, 2014 at 11:07 PM

    I agree that a foul is a foul regardless of when it occurs. That being said, that was not a foul at any time in the game. Bad call.

  10. barkleyblows - Mar 28, 2014 at 11:09 PM

    Terrible call.

  11. barkleyblows - Mar 28, 2014 at 11:09 PM

    Go Blow!

    • beelza - Mar 29, 2014 at 12:17 AM

      Cry Baby Cry

  12. matt2calvin - Mar 29, 2014 at 12:52 AM

    The refs were horrible all game – they ruined a great contest by two very good teams. The refs didn’t call an offensive foul all game, but make one up at the end? Horrible way to end a great game. Michigan was the better team, but you want to see them win it cleanly…

  13. 6superbowls - Mar 29, 2014 at 1:03 AM

    “No Call” Hall makes the worse call of his career. Yes. That’s the nickname college coaches have for the tool that made this call. Sounds like he needed to generate some PR for himself.

  14. gatorprof - Mar 29, 2014 at 3:27 PM

    bad call…defensive player’s feet were still moving….should have been a blocking call or no call.

    • ncrdbl1 - Apr 1, 2014 at 2:42 PM

      Defenders feet can be moving if he has establish guarding position. Defender can even be moving if he has establish guarding position. The rules have changed the past few years. Need to get updated.

  15. mostdiggity - Mar 30, 2014 at 6:16 AM

    Two hand checks (fouls) and one reach-in (foul) before the charge (whistle). Good for them. As a Cats fan I’d much rather play Michigan than Tennessee…

  16. ncrdbl1 - Apr 1, 2014 at 2:39 PM

    How about we look at the call prior to this one. When the Michigan player was called out of bounds. Yes his foot did touch the end line. But if you viewed the play from a different angle from just the baseline you would have noticed something. At the time the player’s foot was on the line he did not have the ball. He and the defender had both slid past the ball. His foot had established itself back in bounds before he made contact with the ball and began dribbling.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!