Skip to content

Creighton’s Doug McDermott wins Wooden Award

Apr 4, 2014, 3:00 PM EDT

mcdermotts AP

Another day, and another Player of the Year honor for Creighton senior forward Doug McDermott. Friday afternoon, hours after McDermott was given the Oscar Roberton Award by the USBWA, he was announced as the winner of the John R. Wooden Award.

McDermott received 3,930 votes, with Duke’s Jabari Parker and Louisville’s Russ Smith finishing second and third, respectively. McDermott is the first winner for a Big East member since Walter Berry won the Wooden Award in 1986.

McDermott shot 52.6% from the field, 44.9% from three and 86.4% from the foul line as a senior, averaging 26.7 points and 7.0 rebounds per game.

Rounding out the top five were Wichita State’s Cleanthony Early and Arizona’s Nick Johnson.

  1. mt10425 - Apr 4, 2014 at 3:14 PM

    Now we’ll see what kind of coach daddy is without his boy putting up selfish numbers.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!